Bye-elections in the Legislative Assemblies of Meghalaya, Kerala, Tripura, Madhya Pradesh and Tamil Nadu announced

Election Commission of India has announced the bye-elections in the following Assembly Constituencies of the States mentioned against those, which need to be filled up:

Sl. No.  State No. & Name of Assembly Constituency
1 Meghalaya 59-Chokpot (ST)
2 Kerala 136-Aruvikkara
3 Tripura 13-Pratapgarh (SC)
4 Tripura 46-Surma (SC)
5 Madhya Pradesh 227-Garoth
6 Tamil Nadu 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar
election commission of india


The Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill these vacancies as per the following schedule:-

1. Issue of Notification 03.06.2015 (Wednesday)
2. Last Date of filing Nominations 10.06.2015 (Wednesday)
3. Date of Scrutiny 11.06.2015 (Thursday)
4. Date of Withdrawal of Candidature 13.06.2015 (Saturday)
5. Date of Poll 27.06.2015 (Saturday)
6. Date of Counting 30.06.2015 (Tuesday)
7. Date of Completion of Election 02.07.2015  (Thursday)
8. Hours of Poll 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM


The Commission has decided that the voter’s identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned bye-elections at the time of poll. Electoral Photo Identity Card (EPIC) shall be the main document of identification of a voter. However, in order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the Electoral Rolls, separate instructions will be issued to allow additional documents for identification of voter at the time of poll in the said bye-elections.

More information

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *